CDMRP Highlights Tick-Borne Disease Research Program Awards for 2017

Since 2016, the Congressionally Directed Medical Research Programs (CDMRP) Tick-Borne Disease Research Program (TBDRP) has received a $5 million Congressional appropriation each year to allocate to awardees focused on Lyme disease research or research on other tick-borne disease (TBDs). Awards address at least one of four TBDRP focus areas which include diagnosis, treatment, prevention, and pathogenesis. The projects awarded are focused on lessening the burden of TBDs, to improve treatment options and diagnostic assays, or to investigate the pathogenic mechanisms of the causative agents of TBDs. Four awards were given in Fiscal Year 2017, all with a primary focus on Lyme disease. Recipients of the awards were Dr. John Belisle, at Colorado State University; Dr. Troy Bankhead, at Washington State University; Dr. Nicole Baumgarth, at the University of California, Davis; and Dr. Yang Wang, at MassBiologics, University of Massachusetts Medical School. LDA President, Pat Smith, is on the CDMRP Programmatic Panel. For a full description of the awards and projects please visit CDMRP articles here: